jump to navigation

Rookie Season Started! January 21, 2015

Posted by jennienorgaard in Online Learning Project.
trackback

Tonight was my first time playing in the Rookie Season I created! In the beginning I was just skating around with the player who had the puck and wasn’t doing so well. I soon realized that the more you pass the puck around and the more often you shoot the odds of you scoring are better. Although, I am still struggling with the idea of passing the puck often, I managed to do a lot better once I started shooting more! I won my first three games of the season simply because I was taking lots of shots. My first three games were won by quite a bit, so I have decided to challenge myself even more and take it up to the Pro difficulty next time I play again!

One of the helpful things on the Beginner mode was that there would be boxes that would pop up providing me with tips on how to succeed. For example, boxes would pop up telling me how I could win face offs, how I could direct the puck off a face off and I had another tell me how to hit players.Hint

So this was one bonus to the beginner level for sure that really helped!

I noticed that I was getting a lot of penalties from the poke checks that I was attempting. Due to these penalties, the opposing team was scoring most of their goals on the power plays. After this, I started doing less poke checks and the game started to turn around, as I wasn’t getting as many penalties. However, as the experience progresses I hope to get the timing of my poke checks better so that it can enhance my defense skills. As the game progressed, and I was winning by quite a bit, I started to play around with the different controls to see what they were. I know that using the L1 button and moving the right analog sticks creates different dekes throughout the game but I don’t really know how to use them yet. I would get a deke the odd time here and there and have no idea how I did it.

Throughout this learning journey, I hope to learn how to perform some different dekes within the game and not get them by fluke, and have better timing on the poke checks to result in less penalties and better defensive play. Lastly, I would like to see more passing and game play occurring as this experience progresses and less controlling the puck with one player.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

