jump to navigation

Prompt #1 January 17, 2015

Posted by jennienorgaard in ECMP 455.
trackback

Hello everybody, my name is Jennie Norgaard and I was born and raised in Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan. I graduated from Carpenter High School where I then came to Regina for my post secondary education. I am a fourth year student here at the University of Regina. I am in the Bachelor of Secondary Education with a major in Mathematics and a minor in Physical Education. Throughout high school, I was involved in as many activities that I could fit into my schedule as possible. Some activities I took part in were basketball, volleyball, badminton, table tennis, soccer and track. I was also fortunate enough to be a part of Team Sask. for table Tennis where I took part in a few Saskatchewan Games, Canada Games in Whitehorse and multiple Nationals. This was a great experience where I got to do a lot of traveling to different places within Canada and meet lots of different people! This is part of the reason why I decided to minor in Physical Education because I love taking part in all sports. With regards to this, I also hope to be a coach somewhere along the way in my career. However, since I came to university I haven’t been in as many activities like I was in high school. I was in intramural volleyball for my first year and I have also been in intramural soccer for the four years I have been here at the university. Initially I wanted to try out for the varsity soccer team here at the university but I hurt my ankle in intramural soccer at the end of my first year, which shattered this thought. Now when I look back and think about this, I am glad I didn’t try out for the team because I wouldn’t have had enough time for everything, especially if I wanted to get my degree in four years.

Throughout my education in Meadow Lake, we had little technology access in our classrooms. We had computer labs that we could go to for certain classes but apart from that we didn’t have any smart boards, iPads, laptop carts or anything technology based like that. Most of our notes were taken from the white/black board and from over head projectors. Due to the lack of technology that I had in my schooling, I believe this is why I am not strong at using it because I don’t have much experience with it. But this is also because I don’t feel comfortable with playing around with technology to do something when I know how to do it the “traditional” way and get my point across. If I were more confident with technology then maybe I would take some time to learn more about it so that it can help me.

When technology first comes to mind, I think it could be a great thing to have in the classroom if you know how to use it properly. Technology can make things more interesting, engaging and fun for both the students and the teacher. However, if you don’t know how to use technology appropriately it can limit the learning in the classroom as well. For example, you could be spending the majority of the class trying to figure out how to do something or fix a problem that may have occurred when in a “traditional” classroom you could have got through more material. But just like anything else in life, if you know how to use it and fix the glitches it may have, it can be very beneficial and can make things more efficient in the classroom.

With all this in mind, I believe that it is important to incorporate as much technology as you can in your classroom. Technology keeps on expanding and becoming more in the world so I believe it is important to keep up with it! Although, I don’t like using it because I am not very good with it, I am more then willing to learn as much as I can to keep me up to date with the new things that keep coming out.

Education is no longer about what you know or whom you know. I learned that it is in fact a mixture of both! Throughout my education here at the U of R we learn that education is no longer a matter of how much material you can take from a class. Of course this is a very important aspect, but there are other things that are just as important if not more important to consider like working with others, providing different forms of learning to our future students and communicating with them. If you can take the material you learn in school and take it a step further and deeper then you have succeeded. After all, everyone can memorize and regurgitate what they learned in school. If there is one thing that I can take away from all this, it would be that as educators we are just leaders to our students. In the end, we are all working together to learn! These are all just the beginning of becoming an effective educator and without the help of technology in the classroom these will be very hard to accomplish!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

