jump to navigation

Final Entry April 12, 2014

Posted by jennienorgaard in EMTH 350.
trackback

After reading over my six different blog entries in this class I would have to say my favourite blog entry would have to be the fourth one on assessment. I would say this is my favourite blog because I learned a variety of different ways to be able to assess students in a mathematics class apart from the traditional homework checks, quizzes and exams. We each researched different assessment strategies and had to explain them to our peers. From these presentations I learned a few other ways to assess students in a math class such as entrance and exit slips, oral reports and presentations, open-ended questioning, checklists and much more. Not only did I learn a variety of different assessment strategies that I can implement in my math class but these strategies also make assessing students more fair and accurate. I say this because not all students are good at writing exams or tests. I think the more variety you put into assessment for your students the more your students will enjoy the content, be engaged in class and they will be able to demonstrate their learning if they are provided a variety of ways to do so. I think it is extremely important to provide students with a variety of ways to demonstrate their learning as everyone learns differently and not all students can provide everything they have learned in certain kinds of assessment strategies.

Looking back at my blog posts for this class I don’t think there would be any blog that I would redo. I say this because my autobiography on math has not changed over the course of the semester and my creeds are still the same. My blog on assessment wouldn’t change either because these are the different assessment strategies I learned about that we could implement into a math classroom. I didn’t know some of these assessment strategies before I made that blog post or before this class. I don’t have much to change about my thoughts on the two videos I watched and had to blog about. I haven’t done anything after creating this blog post that would make me want to change my mind or opinion on those particular things. Prior to this class I didn’t know much about inquiry teaching if anything so there is nothing that I can say I would change about that blog post. As for my post 6a and 6b there is nothing more that I would change about them either. My thoughts on education and the program are the same. Plus on blog 6b we were asked to redo one of the questions after pre-internship, which I did. So realistically after looking at all my blogs I created in this class the only blog I would change would be 6b, which I already have by answering one of the questions again that I already answered in a prior blog.

The blog that I learned the most about myself as a learner would have to be blog 6b, which was created after pre-internship. This would be the one I learned the most because I would have to say I learned a lot of new things in and throughout my pre-internship experience! I learned a lot of things during this experience such as things that I should be doing in my classroom, how to adapt lesson plans for students, and things that work well and are not the best to do in a classroom setting. I learned a lot when I was actually given the opportunity to teach students of the appropriate age group as opposed to teaching university students the content they already knew. It was also very beneficial to learn how to adapt lesson plans for different students when I actually had students in my classes that I had to adapt lesson and assignments for them. In general, pre-internship was an amazing learning experience! I would also say I learned the most in this blog because prior to pre-internship I wasn’t entirely sure if becoming a teacher really was what I wanted to do. But the experience I had at pre-internship was so amazing and I enjoyed it so much that it has changed my opinion on becoming a teacher for sure. Through this three-week experience I learned that I do indeed enjoy teaching and that it is just the university classes that make me second-guess my decision on becoming a teacher. When I am actually out in the field teaching I love it.

To be honest, I don’t think there would be any other blog entry questions that I would add for this class. I think the questions that we were asked throughout this course hit all the points that we learned and discussed in this class. There really was nothing else that we did in this class that we could associate with another blog post. Everything that was done and discussed in this class we had a blog post to follow it. So I don’t think there are any other relevant questions to make and respond to for this class since we more or less covered all the things we did in this class in our blog as well.

After taking EMTH 350 this semester I wish we would have talked and learned more about providing different assessment forms in a math classroom and creating and implementing inquiry lessons. I think it was great that we learned about different assessment strategies but I think it would have been more beneficial to actually see some of these be done in a classroom. It would have also been beneficial if we could have learned how to use and incorporate these different assessment strategies properly in a classroom. For example, we talked about anecdotal notes and records but I have no idea how to incorporate this into a math classroom. I don’t even really understand what this assessment strategy is to be completely honest. The second thing I wish we would have went over more was if we could have done some more inquiry activities such as the activity we did on Tuesdays class with algetiles. It was great learning about how we could do an inquiry lesson with algetiles that taught the completing the square topic but why couldn’t we have done more or these types of activities throughout the course of the semester? I think if we would have done more activities like this throughout the semester it would have been more beneficial for us in becoming mathematics teachers.

Two goals that I have for myself in internship include trying to use a variety of different teaching strategies in and throughout my classroom. In pre-internship I did use a few different teaching strategies but it would have been better if I tried more. For example, it would be great if I could incorporate an inquiry lesson during internship since I didn’t get the chance to incorporate one into one of my lessons during pre-internship. Another goal that I would like to try and accomplish in internship is to be able to incorporate treaty education into my lessons. I find this extremely hard because you can’t simply incorporate algebra with First Nations objects. I also find it really difficult to incorporate this content into the material I am teaching as I am trying to be as respectful about this culture as possible.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

